Contact Us


The Importance of ISO 22301 Business Continuity Certification

When it comes to demonstrating to stakeholders that an organization can rapidly overcome operational disruptions to provide continued and effective service, ISO 22301 certification should be high on your priority list. Writing for Data Center Dynamics, Fusion Risk Management’s Roland Kelly discusses the commitment to achieving ISO 22301 certification, the first ISO standard focused on business continuity.

His discussion includes the four essential steps in the certification process:

  1. Designing, developing, and implementing a business continuity management system (a 15-step process to build the BCM system is outlined here).
  2. Interviewing and selecting accredited registrar (UKAS, ANAB, or equivalent).
  3. Conducting stage one (remote) and stage two (onsite) audits, making corrective action requests fully and promptly to ensure that compliance and effectiveness of the remedy is demonstrated.
  4. Obtaining certification, then preparing for the first surveillance audit.

Read his full post here.

Continuity Insights

Similar Articles

ICYMI: The Cost of Faulty Risk Management – and How to Avoid it

By Atul Vashistha, Chairman, Supply Wisdom: Fines resulting from poor risk management controls are becoming commonplace in the financial industry – and this new trend is just as expensive as …

6 Best Safety Engagement Ideas for Real Cultural Change in Your Organization

By AlertMedia: A workplace culture that embraces safety is ingrained in every process and decision your company makes. Most companies meet at least a handful of basic safety requirements, such …

5 Key Differences: BC and DR

Business continuity and disaster recovery are so closely related that they are often offered as a combined service with its own acronym: Business Continuity/Disaster Recovery (BC/DR). Nevertheless, you should know …

Leave a Comment

Share to...